DIY – Painting Chairs

Back in October, Joel and I bought six chairs from a discount store called GTM. They were navy but they were so dark, they almost looked black. They were so inexpensive that I though I could just paint them.

IMG_1703 IMG_1704

It took me until last month to actually complete this project. Before getting started, I did a ton of research. I went to several sites including these:

http://www.younghouselove.com/2009/02/how-to-paint-furniture/

http://www.bhg.com/blogs/centsational-style/2013/02/06/painted-furniture-step-by-step/

http://diyonthecheap.blogspot.com/2012/03/how-to-paint-furniture-beginners-guide.html

http://www.diyhomedecoratingideas.com/painting-dining-chairs.html

Here’s how I did it!

Before:

IMG_2252

I used this deglosser from Home Depot so then I didn’t have to sand:

IMG_2253

After the deglosser:

IMG_2254

Then I used a spray paint to prime the chairs:

IMG_2256

I’m going to pause here to discuss paint color. I kept going back and forth on whether I was going to spray paint or hand paint. Part of me was up for the hand painting. I’m not very artsy so I don’t get to do that much and the idea of painting something by hand seemed relaxing. Well, I was looking for a specific color. I thought I had found it in a spray paint…so, after priming my chairs, I just went for it:

IMG_2246 IMG_2245

BAHHH!!! This color was so BRIGHT! It was like the highlighter version of the chair I envisioned. Needless to say, I repainted it. SO if you mess up, if you choose the wrong color, DO NOT FEAR! It can be fixed!

IMG_2150

I got samples of very similar colors and brought them home next to my dining table and then chose! It was not, however, an easy process. Choosing a paint color, whether it’s for a piece of furniture or a room, can make you feel like you’re losing your mind.

Here’s a final picture of how the chairs ended up:

IMG_2249 IMG_2498

I am really pleased with they way they turned out. ¬†They aren’t as harsh as the dark chairs which I love! Things I learned about painting furniture:

  • Prep work is important. Do research.
  • Don’t spray paint while the wind is blowing!! It causes the paint to dry mid air and dry in little balls on your furniture.
  • Spray paint goes on way easier and way faster than hand painting.
  • Let the paint dry for as long as you can before using it…like days or a week if you can.
  • Don’t be afraid of ugly, thrift store, discounted furniture. Imagine what it could look like with a fresh coat of paint!
One thought on “DIY – Painting Chairs

Leave a Reply

