Buying a New Couch

I have been wanting to buy a new couch since, well…Joel and I got married.  His parents graciously have let us use a couch that was sitting in his cousin’s garage. But, as great as that is, I’ve been looking for something new. I feel like it is the hardest thing ever especially because Joel and I don’t have $2,000 to spend on a new couch. The budget is possible but it just takes a LOT of searching.

My idea of the perfect couch has made quite the progression. First, I wanted something like this guy here:

This, however, was out of our budget SO I have been searching (what feels like) the entire internet for something similar.

That’s when I found this guy:

Better price, a similar shape…but NOW I want something that LOOKS comfortable. I’m not entirely sure what that looks like but here are some ideas…

Maybe one of these days, we will actually purchase a new couch but until then I will scour the internet for options!

Here are some things I have learned about couch buying thus far:

  1. Colors are not always as depicted online. For instance, I saw this one sofa in this yellowy color – it looked mustard – and I thought, “Hey, that could be cool.” I went to the store and I wanted to rip my eyeballs out because it was kinda green and disgusting and NOTHING like the picture.
  2. Always SIT on the sofas! I kept looking at some of my favorite online sites (like Joss and Main) thinking I might be able to find a sofa. But after going to sit on a few that I saw online, I learned not all sofas are comfortable!
  3. It’s important to see the fabric in person. There was another sofa I saw online that I wanted to look at in person. When I did, the fabric was stripy and weird, and not nearly as soft as I wanted the fabric to be.
  4. Ask about warranties or return policies. What happens if the frame breaks? Or the fabric tears? Or something mysteriously goes wrong?
  5. Hidden fees! Some places have their sofas on location in the stock room and you can carry them out of the store. Other places require you to pay a delivery fee because they are having the items shipped down from a warehouse outside of the store. *This is not really a hidden fee BUT rather something you want to be aware of when purchasing a couch.

I would love to see your favorite couch – if you’d like, post a picture of or link to your dream couch in the comments section!

Leave a comment